C-TRIC based in the North West of Northern Ireland is a regional asset that makes it easy for Universities and Life and Health Science companies to work with the NHS to do research studies in order to improve patient care in our community.

C-TRIC is a state-of-the-art research institute, as impressive as it is unique. C-TRIC is a not-for-profit company and personalised medicine institute based on the Altnagelvin Hospital site, the largest acute hospital outside Belfast. C-TRIC connects patients directly to national and international research opportunities. 

Created as a one of a kind tri-sector partnership between Derry City and Strabane District Council, Ulster University and the Western Health and Social Care Trust in late 2008, C-TRIC has expanded its portfolio of exciting research ever since, and continues to be supported by the HSC R&D Division of the Public Health Agency.

Our position enables us to facilitate translational and clinical research by providing specialist workspace and tailored services for academic researchers, clinical researchers and Life and Health Sciences companies. Uniquely, C-TRIC houses the Northern Ireland Centre for Stratified/Personalised Medicine, which focuses on understanding the basis of long-term medical conditions.

C-TRIC has significant experience in helping small and medium enterprise companies to test and validate their innovations bringing them from the laboratory to the patient’s bedside. C-TRIC excels in recruiting large numbers of patients through linkage with NHS Trusts and Primary Care. Following 10 years of success we continue to strive to engage with the community in order to expand our portfolio of projects. C-TRIC is a key stakeholder in the THRIVE project as part of the Derry/Londonderry City Deal. C-TRIC aims to reduce the time to deliver research studies for industry and to continue to create jobs in Life and Health Science in Northern Ireland.

Our Team

Aaron Peace


Dr Aaron Peace is the Research and Development Director of the Western Health and Social Care Trust (WHSCT) and Consultant Cardiologist. He joined C-TRIC as CEO in October 2016.

Dr Aaron Peace believes “C-TRIC to be a core regional asset for research in the North West.”

Patricia Moran

Facilities Manager

Patricia joined C-TRIC in March 2011 and plays a critical role in event management, including the organisation of the annual international TMED conference.

She also has responsibility for managing facilities and ensuring that C-TRIC runs smoothly day to day.

Mark Watson

Scientific Lead

Mark joined C-TRIC in October 2020. Mark is a HCPC registered Biomedical Scientist with a PhD in Molecular Biology, Next Gen Sequencing and Bioinformatics. Currently the Scientific Lead, aiding in the design and implementation of several clinical research studies within C-TRIC, including protocol development, scientific analysis, submitting projects for IRAS/ethical review and writing scientific reports.

Michael Conwell

Senior Scientific Officer

Michael joined C-TRIC in February 2022. Michael has a PhD in Microbiology, focusing on assay development, immunofluorescence, molecular cytogenetics and cytometry. With experience in preclinical contract research and senior laboratory/technical roles in the medical device sector, Michael is currently the Senior Scientific Officer at C-TRIC. He aids in the design and implementation of clinical contract research within C-TRIC, as well as bespoke scientific research packages.

Our Board of Directors

Timothy Brundle

Director of Research & Impact, Ulster University

Timothy Brundle is Director of Research & Impact at Ulster University. Ulster University nominated Mr Brundle as a C-TRIC Director in September 2019.


Neil Guckian

Director of Finance, Contracting & ICT, Western Health & Social Care Trust

Neil Guckian is Director of Finance, Contracting & ICT at the Western Health and Social Care Trust. Neil was nominated by the Trust as a C-TRIC Director in 2020 and currently holds the position of Chairperson on the C-TRIC Board.


Liam Maguire

Pro Vice Chancellor Research

Professor Liam Maguire, PVC Research at Ulster University, has been nominated by Ulster University to join the C-TRIC Board of Directors from January 2022.

Conor Heaney

Councillor, Derry City & Strabane District Council

Cllr Conor Heaney is a member of Derry City and Strabane District Council and was nominated by Council as a C-TRIC Board Director in June 2021.

Joann Rhodes

Chief Executive HIRA-NI

Joann Rhodes is Chief Executive of the Health Innovation Research Alliance, Northern Ireland (HIRA-NI) and joined the C-TRIC Board in January 2022.

Stephen Gillespie

Director of Business & Culture, Derry City & Strabane District Council

Stephen Gillespie is the Director of Business and Culture at Derry City and Strabane District Council and was nominated as a C-TRIC Director by Council in 2013.

Dr Catherine McDonnell

Medical Director, Western Health & Social Care Trust

Dr Catherine McDonnell is Medical Director at the Western Health and Social Care Trust and was nominated by the Trust as a C-TRIC Director in 2019.